DIY Adventures – Updating a Cute Curio Cabinet

K and I did a massive apartment clean-up this weekend, and as we were diligently figuring out how to tetris yet more boxes into our closet, I started noticing my over abundance of blind box treasures and how they really weren’t being displayed properly. So a few hours later as I was lugging bags of clothes and old books to Goodwill, I peaked inside to see if there was anything that would aid me in my storage/display quest. And voila! A $5 tabletop curio cabinet appeared as if by the generous hand of fate. The bad news? It was a little on the gross side, lots of stains and some kind of clear liquid dripping down the glass (I think it was soap)  as well as a boring white laminate finish. boo. I knew this cabinet had unrealized greatness just waiting to be discovered so I hit Joann’s Fabrics with my faithful sidekick Patrick and got right to work.

This is the original white curio cabinet I purchased from Goodwill (I did give it a thorough cleaning to remove as much gunk and stains as I could):

tabletop curio cabinet DIY Makeover

This boring white cabinet is pleading for help

To complete this amazing transformation I relied on the following useful items:

Folk Art Acrylic Paint in Green Sea and paint brushes

Scrapbook Paper (for the walls, back areas and “floors” for the interior of each box level)

Sponge Brush

DIY Modge Podge (equal parts Elmer’s Glue and Water shaken in a jar)

Cute new knob and some wood/glass/ceramic glue to attach it

Basically I used the paint to brighten up the outside of the cabinet and my amazing scrapbook paper  to decorate the inside areas of the box. I love scrapbook paper, they sell TONS of different kinds and they are amazing for miniatures and tiny sets since they can easily resemble wallpaper and carpet patterns.

DIY curio cabinet upgrade

A new coat of a paint and a stylish new interior work wonders

diy display case update

high style on a low budget

After letting the paint dry and going back for touch-ups, I used the DIY modge podge mixture to adhere the scrapbook squares to the inside of the cabinet. I’m not an expert ‘podger by any means so I ended up with some wrinkles, but of course I think that adds to the appeal. There are a bunch of tools and Modge Podge tutorials out there if you are looking for more guidance on these types of crafts.  Another great aspect of using the scrapbook paper is that when you buy a pack, you are basically guaranteed to find a variety of patterns/solids that naturally complement each other. I decided to go with a pattern for the floors and back walls but left the sides neutral. This is also because I didn’t want the box itself to overshadow the cool toys it was going to display.

While I could have used an actual knob to replace the white wooden blob the original cabinet came with, I found these cute little scrapbook accessory knobs at Joann’s so I had to use some wood/ceramic glue to attach it. There are still a few rough edges I need to trim with an x-acto knife, but overall I think the project turned out really well and will serve as the perfect display case for my rapidly expanding random toy collection.

cool green curio cabinet

At last, a stylish curio cabinet with a timeless allure

1 Comment

Filed under Cute Stuff I Made, Heartwarming Housegoods

One response to “DIY Adventures – Updating a Cute Curio Cabinet

  1. Your cabinet is soooo amazingly cute. What talent and creativity
    You must have inherited that from your mom- haha
    Seriously, it turned out great .

Leave a Reply

